Semax: research

A Russian nasal peptide with limited human evidence for brain and nerve effects.

Also called: Семакс, ACTH(4–7)-PGP, MEHFPGP.

Nootropic peptides · ACTH-fragment analogue studied for brain and nerve effects.

25 human reports may include repeated participants. People often knew which treatment they received, and comparison and safety details are limited.

Studies

Semax dosage

Typical reported dose: 400–900 mcg a day as nose drops, before midday

  • Acute stroke: 12 mg/day: 12 mg/day daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Moderate acute ischemic stroke. (source)
  • Acute stroke: 18 mg/day: 18 mg/day daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Severe acute ischemic stroke. (source)
  • Two courses of 12 mg/day: 12 mg/day on days 1–10 only, then No Semax on days 11–24, then 12 mg/day on days 25–34 only daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults with motor neuron disease. (source)
  • Two courses of 6 mg/day: 6 mg/day on days 1–10 only, then No Semax on days 11–30, then 6 mg/day on days 31–40 only daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults after ischemic stroke. (source)
  • Psoriasis study: 600 mcg/day: 600 mcg/day as 0.1% nasal solution daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Psoriasis with metabolic syndrome. (source)
  • Early attention study: one dose: 0.25 mg intranasally once once only, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Healthy adult men. (source)

These are doses reported in labels, trials or user reports, not a personal plan. Check the source behind each one.

Work out syringe units with the dosing calculator

Semax side effects and risks

Reported side effects

  • Nasal irritation: Mild irritation with prolonged use in Russian instructions; no rate given., mild (source)
  • Abnormal EEG activity: Reported in some of 73 posthypoxic patients; event count and seizure rate unavailable., serious (source)
  • Eye pain or burning: One FDA consumer report included hospitalization; causality and product quality unconfirmed., serious (source)
  • Immune reactions to impurities: FDA identifies a potential risk; human incidence is unknown., serious (source)

Stop and get help if

  • Trouble breathing, face or throat swelling, or collapse: Stop exposure and get emergency care now.
  • Sudden weakness, facial droop, speech trouble or sudden vision loss: Call emergency services immediately; do not delay stroke care for a peptide.
  • A seizure, loss of awareness or new severe confusion: Stop exposure and get emergency care.
  • Persistent eye pain, burning or new visual symptoms: Stop exposure and seek urgent eye assessment.

Who should avoid it

  • pregnant: Russian instructions contraindicate pregnancy; controlled pregnancy safety studies are absent.
  • breastfeeding: Russian instructions contraindicate breastfeeding; infant exposure and safety are unknown.
  • tryingToConceive: Precaution: reproductive safety and a preconception washout interval are not established.
  • under18: Russian pediatric use does not establish safety of online preparations.
  • other: Avoid after allergy to the peptide or formulation, including its preservatives.
  • testedAthlete: 2026 status is unresolved for the exact substance and formulation; obtain an anti-doping ruling.
  • kidneyDisease: No reliable dose-adjustment studies for kidney impairment were located.
  • liverDisease: No reliable dose-adjustment studies for liver impairment were located.
  • psychiatricCondition: Review symptoms and psychiatric medicines; the available trials do not cover every diagnosis or combination.
  • other: Blocked or irritated nasal passages can make delivery unreliable; review persistent nose symptoms.
  • seizureDisorder: Russian instructions contraindicate a seizure history; one clinical report described abnormal EEG activity.
  • other: Russian instructions list acute psychiatric conditions and anxiety disorders as contraindications.
  • bleedingDisorder: FDA flags a possible bleeding concern from limited clotting data; clinical risk is not quantified.
  • activeCancer: Cancer safety is unstudied. Preclinical growth-factor effects do not establish safety in active cancer.
  • surgeryPlanned: Review use before surgery because FDA raises a possible bleeding concern; no validated stopping interval exists.

Interactions

  • Nasal decongestants: Russian instructions discourage local nasal vasoconstrictors; they may alter delivery.
  • Anticoagulants and antiplatelet drugs: Possible added bleeding risk is a precaution from limited clotting evidence, not a proven clinical interaction.
  • Prescription stimulants: Semax amplified amphetamine effects in rodents. Human interaction risk is unknown.
  • Selank and modified nootropic peptides: No controlled human combination trial or interchangeable dose has been established.

Product quality risks

  • Seized powders were identified as Semax and Selank by mass spectrometry; that study did not establish sterility or a market-wide contamination rate.
  • FDA flags immune reactions from aggregation and peptide-related impurities. A nasal route does not remove quality risks.
  • Unregulated preparations can contain the wrong amount, microbes or bacterial toxins. No representative assay survey of these two products was found.

How Semax works

Semax is built from part of the ACTH signal plus a short stabilizing tail. Animal studies show changes in growth-factor and chemical signals in the brain. Its useful target in humans is not established.

  • BDNF and trkB signaling: Changed expression in rat brain; human benefit not established.
  • Enkephalin-degrading enzymes: Inhibited in laboratory serum assays.
  • Dopamine and serotonin signaling: Changed in rodents, including stronger amphetamine responses.

Half-life: No validated human elimination half-life was found.

Gaps: Human-study counts are identified reports, not a proven count of independent trials; some cohorts may overlap. No FDA or EMA label was found. Russian instructions are classified as clinical-practice by the KB policy. Russian registration was updated in 2025, but the full current government-approved instruction could not be retrieved. Older Russian instructions and current packs may differ in dosing and storage. Do not merge those versions. No completed interventional ClinicalTrials.gov record for these compounds was identified. A name search also returns irrelevant records. No Cochrane review or high-quality compound-specific meta-analysis was located. Long-term exposure, rare harms, pregnancy, lactation and conception washout periods are unknown. No verified human subcutaneous dosing trial, validated mixing method or after-mixing shelf life was found. Community frequency labels describe this search, not measured population prevalence. nMentions is used only for explicitly counted posters. No representative market survey established identity, amount, sterility or endotoxin quality for online products. No routine lab panel or evidence-based schedule for monitoring community use has been validated. WADA names neither peptide explicitly. Russian therapeutic registration complicates an automatic S0 classification. National EU status, UK import rules and broad Australian scheduling coverage remain unresolved. Chemical identity, HPLC purity, vial amount, microbial quality and endotoxin testing answer different questions. Some older human reports had no accessible abstract; their study-design category is provisional. The 1997 stroke comparison is nonrandomized. The 2008 motor-neuron abstract describes open treatment despite its RCT index tag. The 2015 psoriasis English abstract says 600 mg/day; original Russian text says 600 mcg/day. Only the latter enters protocols. The 2002 clotting abstract is quoted by FDA as 600 mg/day. Its original unit was not verified; no protocol or studied ceiling uses it. The 0.5 mg/kg pain dose is from FDA extraction of an inaccessible original; it is a single dose, not a repeated-dose maximum. The 2018 and 2020 imaging reports may reuse participants. Neither tested lasting cognitive benefit or combined Semax–Selank use. A COVID smell-loss trial is disclosed in a patent. A peer-reviewed outcome paper and exact registry linkage were not located. Historical Russian vascular and optic schedules contain inconsistent dose-range and drop-count arithmetic. The highest verified repeated human-trial daily total located was 18 mg intranasally in acute stroke, not healthy-adult focus use. July 2026 PCAC backing is reported by BMJ. Official vote minutes and a final rule authorizing Semax were not located. FDA found one consumer eye-pain report requiring hospitalization. Causality and incidence cannot be inferred.

Related to Semax

Semax: the short version

Sources

Sources checked: 2026-10-18.

Information only, not medical advice. Peptifacts does not sell anything and does not link to sellers.