Selank: research
A Russian nasal anxiety peptide with uncertain long-term benefit and safety.
Also called: Селанк, TP-7, Tuftsin-PGP, TKPRPGP.
Nootropic peptides · Tuftsin-derived peptide studied for anxiety and cognition.
20 human reports may include repeated participants. People often knew which treatment they received; lasting benefit and safety remain unclear.
Studies
- Generalized anxiety and neurasthenia. rct, n=62, Generalized anxiety disorder or neurasthenia. A small active-comparator trial does not prove equivalence. (source)
- Immune markers during anxiety care. cohort, People with generalized anxiety or neurasthenia; parallel cell experiments. Blood-marker changes do not show protection from infections. (source)
- Selank versus phenazepam. rct, n=60, Adults with anxiety-phobic, hypochondriacal or somatoform disorders. Less sedation, but a smaller day-14 anxiety-score reduction. (source)
- Adding Selank to phenazepam. rct, n=70, Adults with anxiety-spectrum disorders. The day-14 responder comparison was not statistically significant. (source)
- Early phase 2 congress report. single-arm, n=21, Adults aged 18–45 with psychogenic anxiety who did not respond to placebo. A selected sample was studied in a conference report. (source)
- Rapid versus gradual response. single-arm, n=20, Adults aged 24–52 with generalized anxiety disorder. Response groups were defined after treatment without a placebo control. (source)
- Older adults with vascular symptoms. single-arm, n=15, Adults over 50 with vascular asthenic disorder and cognitive problems. A selected 15-person pilot reported improvement. (source)
- Parkinson disease and essential tremor. single-arm, n=40, 20 people with tremor-dominant Parkinson disease; 20 with essential tremor. An uncontrolled series studied mood and cognitive symptoms. (source)
- Huntington disease: six-person series. case-series, n=6, People with Huntington disease and mood symptoms. A clinical review includes six additional uncontrolled cases. (source)
- Chronic low-back nerve pain. single-arm, n=32, Adults with chronic lumbosacral radiculopathy. A clinical series reported less nerve-related pain. (source)
- Psychogenic overeating. rct, n=30, Adults with disordered eating and asthenic-neurotic symptoms. A small trial does not establish a weight-loss treatment. (source)
- Adjustment disorder: controlled comparison (2017). cohort, Adults with adjustment disorder selected from a larger stress survey. A nonrandomized comparison reported lower symptom scores with Selank than with no treatment. (source)
- Adjustment disorder: controlled comparison. cohort, n=30, Adults with adjustment disorder. A 15-versus-15 controlled comparison reported lower symptom scores with Selank at day 28. (source)
- Adding Selank to escitalopram. rct, n=55, Adults aged 18–55 with mixed anxiety and depressive symptoms. A small add-on comparison reported faster symptom change. (source)
- Mood symptoms around menopause. single-arm, n=30, Women with climacteric syndrome. An uncontrolled study reported symptom improvement. (source)
- Asthma with anxiety. cohort, n=70, Adults with asthma and anxiety. A co-treatment report contains conflicting dose arithmetic. (source)
- Atopic dermatitis: four groups. rct, n=124, Adults with moderate atopic dermatitis. Combination care improved outcomes with uncertain peptide contribution. (source)
- Tension-type headache with anxiety. cohort, n=40, Adults in a resort-care program with headache and anxiety. A small resort-care comparison reported symptom relief. (source)
- Post-COVID fatigue. cohort, n=64, People with post-COVID fatigue, reduced work capacity and emotional symptoms. A long co-treatment course has incomplete dosing detail. (source)
- Selank or Semax: brain connections. cohort, n=52, Healthy volunteers given Selank, Semax or placebo. The study tested separate drugs, not a Semax–Selank stack. (source)
- GABA receptor experiments. in-vitro, Rat brain membranes. Selank changed GABA binding and altered benzodiazepine effects in membrane assays. (source)
- BDNF expression in rats. animal, Rats. Intranasal Selank changed hippocampal BDNF expression. (source)
- Enkephalin breakdown assay. in-vitro, Human plasma in laboratory assays. Selank inhibited enkephalin breakdown; this was not a clinical dosing trial. (source)
- Identity of seized powders. in-vitro, Two seized preparations; laboratory analysis. Mass spectrometry identified Selank and Semax in seized preparations. (source)
Selank dosage
Typical reported dose: Two drops in each nostril, three times a day
- Early study: one test dose: 900 mcg intranasally once single test dose, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults with psychogenic anxiety. (source)
- Anxiety study: 2700 mcg/day: 2700 mcg/day intranasally daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults with generalized anxiety disorder. (source)
- Older-adult pilot: three daily doses: 2700 mcg/day as 900 mcg three times daily daily total in three equal administrations, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults over 50 with vascular cognitive symptoms. (source)
- Anxiety comparison: 2.7 mg/day: 2700 mcg/day for 14 days daily total; within-day split not specified, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults with anxiety-spectrum disorders. (source)
- Selank added to phenazepam: 2700 mcg/day on days 1–14 with phenazepam, then Days 15–21: 20/40 continued; the other 20 stopped daily total; within-day split not specified, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults with anxiety-spectrum disorders. (source)
- Parkinson/tremor pilot: three weeks: 1350 mcg/day intranasally daily total; within-day split not stated, nasal spray. Studied in a trial. Studied in: Adults with Parkinson disease or essential tremor. (source)
These are doses reported in labels, trials or user reports, not a personal plan. Check the source behind each one.
Selank side effects and risks
Reported side effects
- Unpleasant taste: Russian instructions describe taste when nasal solution reaches the throat; no rate given., mild (source)
- Allergic reaction: Possible with intolerance; no frequency estimate in Russian instructions., serious (source)
- Longer sleep: 13% Selank versus 93% phenazepam on day 14 in a 60 person open trial., mild (source)
- Memory problems: 10% Selank versus 83% phenazepam on day 14 in the same trial., moderate (source)
- Concentration problems: 7% Selank versus 97% phenazepam on day 14., moderate (source)
- Weakness or fatigue: 3% Selank versus 77% phenazepam on day 14., mild (source)
- Nasal dryness: 7% Selank versus 0% phenazepam on day 21, one week after treatment stopped., mild (source)
Stop and get help if
- Trouble breathing, face or throat swelling, or collapse: Stop exposure and get emergency care now.
- Sudden weakness, facial droop, speech trouble or sudden vision loss: Call emergency services immediately; do not delay stroke care for a peptide.
Who should avoid it
- pregnant: Russian instructions contraindicate pregnancy; controlled pregnancy safety studies are absent.
- breastfeeding: Russian instructions contraindicate breastfeeding; infant exposure and safety are unknown.
- tryingToConceive: Precaution: reproductive safety and a preconception washout interval are not established.
- under18: Russian pediatric use does not establish safety of online preparations.
- other: Avoid after allergy to the peptide or formulation, including its preservatives.
- testedAthlete: 2026 status is unresolved for the exact substance and formulation; obtain an anti-doping ruling.
- kidneyDisease: No reliable dose-adjustment studies for kidney impairment were located.
- liverDisease: No reliable dose-adjustment studies for liver impairment were located.
- psychiatricCondition: Review symptoms and psychiatric medicines; the available trials do not cover every diagnosis or combination.
- other: Blocked or irritated nasal passages can make delivery unreliable; review persistent nose symptoms.
- autoimmuneDisease: Immune-marker changes were reported; effects in autoimmune disease are unstudied. This is a precaution.
- immunosuppressed: Immune effects and interactions with immune-suppressing care are unknown. This is a precaution.
- seizureDisorder: Safety in seizure disorders is not established; review neurological history and medicines.
Interactions
- Benzodiazepines and other sedating substances: A small phenazepam study does not establish safety with other sedatives. Sedation still occurred with the combination.
- Antidepressants and antipsychotics: One small escitalopram study and laboratory data do not establish safety across these drugs.
- Semax and modified nootropic peptides: The combination is reported online; the brain-imaging study tested separate drug groups.
Product quality risks
- Seized powders were identified as Semax and Selank by mass spectrometry; that study did not establish sterility or a market-wide contamination rate.
- FDA flags immune reactions from aggregation and peptide-related impurities. A nasal route does not remove quality risks.
- Unregulated preparations can contain the wrong amount, microbes or bacterial toxins. No representative assay survey of these two products was found.
How Selank works
Selank is based on tuftsin, a small immune signal, with an added stabilizing tail. Laboratory studies suggest effects on GABA signaling and peptide breakdown. How these changes explain anxiety relief in people is uncertain.
- GABA receptor signaling: Modified GABA binding in rat brain membrane assays.
- Enkephalin-degrading enzymes: Slowed peptide breakdown in laboratory plasma assays.
- Immune signals: Changed cytokine measurements in a small clinical report.
Half-life: No reliable human elimination half-life was verified.
Gaps: Human-study counts are identified reports, not a proven count of independent trials; some cohorts may overlap. No FDA or EMA label was found. Russian instructions are classified as clinical-practice by the KB policy. Russian registration was updated in 2025, but the full current government-approved instruction could not be retrieved. Older Russian instructions and current packs may differ in dosing and storage. Do not merge those versions. No completed interventional ClinicalTrials.gov record for these compounds was identified. A name search also returns irrelevant records. No Cochrane review or high-quality compound-specific meta-analysis was located. Long-term exposure, rare harms, pregnancy, lactation and conception washout periods are unknown. No verified human subcutaneous dosing trial, validated mixing method or after-mixing shelf life was found. Community frequency labels describe this search, not measured population prevalence. nMentions is used only for explicitly counted posters. No representative market survey established identity, amount, sterility or endotoxin quality for online products. No routine lab panel or evidence-based schedule for monitoring community use has been validated. WADA names neither peptide explicitly. Russian therapeutic registration complicates an automatic S0 classification. National EU status, UK import rules and broad Australian scheduling coverage remain unresolved. Chemical identity, HPLC purity, vial amount, microbial quality and endotoxin testing answer different questions. The 2008 PubMed abstract gives 30/32 treated; a shortened Russian reprint gives 42/20. The discrepancy remains unresolved. The 2005 congress abstract has an unclear course-dose time unit; a daily schedule is not reconstructed from it. The 2017 and 2018 adjustment reports may overlap but report 30 versus 15 treated patients. Independent enrollment remains unresolved. The Parkinson/tremor cohort is repeated in a 2017 review; only six additional Huntington cases are counted from that report. The 2019 asthma paper says two drops per nostril four times daily but also says 24 drops/day. No protocol uses this conflict. The 2024 post-COVID abstract omits whether drops are per nostril. No protocol is reconstructed from this wording. Other Russian dermatology and early Parkinson publications may reuse cohorts; full independent-study counting remains incomplete. Adverse-event bands use percentages from one small open trial; these are not reliable general-population incidence estimates. The manufacturer-hosted fixed schedule and older wider-range instruction are separate historical versions. No robust abuse, dependence, withdrawal or long-term interaction study was found. Claims of no dependence are not proven for arbitrary use.
Related to Selank
- Semax: A Russian nasal peptide with limited human evidence for brain and nerve effects.
- PE-22-28: An experimental mood peptide studied in mice, with no human trials found.
- Dihexa: An experimental memory compound with disputed animal research and no established human dose.
- P21: An experimental memory peptide with animal research and no established human dose or safety profile.
- Cerebrolysin: An injectable pig brain mixture with mixed stroke, brain-injury and dementia evidence.
Sources
- 503B Bulk Drug Substances List, FDA · FDA · 2026
- Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, FDA · FDA · 2026
- Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks, FDA · FDA · 2026
- MHRA Products | Home, MHRA · MHRA · 2026
- The Prohibited List, World Anti-Doping Agency · World Anti-Doping Agency · 2026
- Therapeutic Goods (Poisons Standard—October 2026) Instrument 2026, Australian Government · Australian Government · 2026
- Think twice before injecting peptides bought online: unauthorized products can seriously harm you, Health Canada · Health Canada · 2026
- Anaphylaxis, NHS · NHS · 2023
- Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods (ARTG), Therapeutic Goods Administration · TGA
- Search, European Medicines Agency
- Semax-Related Bulk Drug Substances: Semax (Free Base) and Semax Acetate
- Symptoms of a stroke
- Селанк® | ЛП-№(010951)-(РГ-RU) | ГРЛС 2026
- POST-COVID SYNDROME, POSSIBILITIES FOR THERAPY OF ASTHENIC DISORDERS WITH SELANK, 2024
- Functional Connectomic Approach to Studying Selank and Semax Effects., Panikratova YR et al. · Doklady biological sciences : proceedings of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, Biological sciences sections · 2020
Sources checked: 2026-10-18.
Information only, not medical advice. Peptifacts does not sell anything and does not link to sellers.